12th Judicial District announces District Court vacancy

ALAMOSA—The Twelfth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet at the Alamosa Combined Court on Oct. 4 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the Twelfth Judicial District (Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande and Saguache counties). The vacancy will be created by the retirement of Chief Judge Pattie P. Swift. The vacancy will occur on Jan. 15, 2020.
To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the Twelfth Judicial District at the time of investiture and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is $173,248. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of six years.
Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Monica M. Márquez, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the court executive, Christina Gallegos, 702 Fourth St., Alamosa, CO 81101. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at http://www.courts.state.co.us/Careers/Judge.cfm
The completed application must be e-mailed to the address listed in the instructions below no later than 4 p.m. Sept. 20. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. Sept. 13, 2019.
The members of the nominating commission for the Twelfth Judicial District are: Carla Gomez of Center; Paul Motz of Alamosa; Armando Valdez of La Jara; Terry Wetherill and Charles Powers, both of Creede; Junita Martinez of San Luis; and John Montgomery of Del Norte.


Video News